Demystifying TET Examinations: A Comprehensive Guide to Teacher Eligibility Tests in India

Introduction to TET

The Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is a mandatory examination for individuals aspiring to become teachers in primary and upper primary schools across India.

National Importance

TET holds national significance as it serves as a benchmark for ensuring teaching standards and quality education delivery throughout the country.

Regulatory Body

TET exams are regulated by both the Central and State Governments, with each state having its own TET examination tailored to its specific educational requirements.

Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must meet specific eligibility criteria, including educational qualifications and age requirements, to be eligible to appear for the TET exams.

Paper Pattern

TET exams typically consist of two papers: Paper I for teachers of classes 1 to 5, and Paper II for teachers of classes 6 to 8. Both papers assess candidates' proficiency in subjects like Language, Mathematics, Environmental Studies, etc.

Validity Period

The TET certificate is valid for a lifetime, allowing candidates to apply for teaching positions in schools throughout their career without the need for periodic renewal.

Qualifying Marks

Candidates belonging to the General and OBC categories are required to secure a minimum of 60% marks or 90 marks out of 150, while for candidates from the SC/ST category, the passing percentage required is 55%, or 83 marks out of the total score.

View Next Story